Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Cathedral of Saint Mary

Diocese of Ogdensburg

The Cathedral of St. Mary began its existence in 1832 as a small wooden mission chapel built by Fr. James Salmon, first resident pastor of St. Lawrence County.

In 1852 the cornerstone of the new St. Mary’s Church, which in time became the first cathedral, was blessed by Fr. James Mackey.

On February 25, 1872 the diocese of Ogdensburg was created and bishop Wadhams was appointed its first bishop. The new bishop chose St. Mary’s as his Cathedral. The Cathedral was added to in different stages and on September 8th 1898, the Cathedral was consecrated solemnly by the Apostolic delegate to the United States.

On the night of November 25, 1947 fire destroyed the Cathedral and immediately rebuilding efforts were begun. On 20th May 1950 the cornerstone of the new cathedral was blessed and laid in its place. On October 22 1952 Cardinal Spellman consecrated the new structure.